Brodeth Jarata eye rebound as netfest starts

Paliwag, Morris hanep sa tennis
May 21, 2022
August 12, 2022

Brodeth Jarata eye rebound as netfest starts

Foiled the last time out, top seed Marc Jarata and Kimi Brodeth seek redemption as action in the PPS-PEPP age-group tennis circuit shifts to Sucat, Parañaque beginning Wednesday for the Olivarez Cup.

Jarata swept his way to the finals of the premier boys’ side in the Sta. Rosa, Laguna leg last week but failed to finish off Exequiel Jucutan and yielded a 7-6(2), 4-6, 2-10 decision while Brodeth squandered her bid in girls’ play, losing to Mica Emana twice, in the 16-U finals and in the 18-U semis.

But the Agoo, La Union and Ormoc City bets are going all-out for top podium finishes this time with Jarata spearheading the 32-player draw that includes second ranked Hans Cabellon, No. 3 John David Velez and fourth seed Nikhel Nowlakha.

He clashes with John Amora, while Cabellon faces Sean Bernardo, Velez tangles with Daniel Rutines and Nowlakha tests Kevin Javier’s mettle in four of the top matches kicking off the week-long Group 2 tournament presented by Dunlop and hosted by the Olivarez family, a long-time supporter of the sport.

Meanwhile, Pampanga will host the next stop of the country’s longest talent-search put up by Palawan Pawnshop president/CEO Bobby Castro, on July 22-30 in Apalit. For details and listup, contact Bobby Mangunay at 0915-4046464.

Brodeth, on the other hand, drew an opening round bye and will face the winner between Elra and Chelsea Abaa in the 18-U side that features second ranked Alexi Jarata, Jiana Hernandez and siblings Kaye Ann and Mica Emana.

All but one of the eight age categories feature full-packed 32-player casts, guaranteeing another week of fierce action from some of the country’s leading and rising players in the ranks clashing for top honors and ranking points.

Kendrick Bona, Renante Bravo Jr. and France Dilao (boys) and Jane Diaz, Therese Gauran, Brodeth and Alexi Jarata (girls) lead the 16-U group while Bravo, France and Frank Dilao and Tristan Licayan (boys) and Diaz, Gauran, Sandra Bautista and Joy Ansay (girls) slug it out in 14-U side of the event backed by ProtekTODO, PalawanPay, the Unified Tennis Philippines and UTR (Universal Tennis Rating).